, 28. February 2016
A prestigious Award

Nobel Prize in Literature

Alfred Nobel founded the Nobel Prize in the year 1895. Since 1901, in the field of literature the prestigious prize is awarded for the creation of "the most important literary works of idealistic directions". In 2015, the Nobel Prize winner was the Belarusian writer Svetlana Alexievich.

x-working Nobel Prize ceremony.
Nobel Prize ceremony.

The Nobel Prize is decided. The list of applicants and the name of the future award winner was a closely guarded secret until recently. The names of candidates for the year 2015 will only be announced 50 years later. The amount of the Nobel Prize this time includes prize money of 8 million Swedish kronor (equals 953,000 U$). This year as favourites the trendy Japanese writer Haruki Murakami, the Kenyan writer Ngui Wa Thiongo, the Norwegian playwright Yung Fosse, the American classic writer Philip Roth and the Austrian Peter Handke are hotly tipped. However, contrary to all expectations the Belarus Svetlana Alexievitch received the prestigious award.

Svetlana Alexievitch - Soviet and Belarusian writer, journalist and scriptwriter of documentaries. She writes in Russian language. The best books of her out of the genre of artistic and documentary prose bear the titles "War Does Not Have a Woman's Face", "Zinc-Covered Boys", "Chernobyl Prayer" and "Second-hand Time". Alexijewitsch works are dedicated to the late Soviet and post-Soviet lifetime, always imbued with a sense of compassion and humanity.

Until this year, only five Russian writers were awarded the prestigious prize. Historically, the Russian poets and writers of the Nobel Prize had big problems. The first was Ivan Bunin, who received the Nobel Prize. Boris Pasternak was the second Russian writer who won the Nobel Prize. The anti-Pasternak mass campaign created by opponents forced him then to give up the award. In 1965, Mikhail Sholokhov was awarded for his novel "And Quiet Flows the Don". The next award went to Alexander Solzhenitsyn, who subsequently was revoked his Soviet citizenship. Finally, in 1987, Joseph Brodsky became the winner of the Nobel Prize for Literature.

© 2016 – x-working

Choose articles

x-working Art Magazine - Editorial Team

The x-working team of editors investigating and writing for the art magazine:
Profile picture for user sonja_bachmann
Profile picture for user sonja.bachmann
Literary Arts
Profile picture for user Eugenia
Profile picture for user giuliana_koch
Literary Arts
Profile picture for user mercedes_llorente
Literary Arts
Profile picture for user Giulia
Dramatic Arts
Profile picture for user annelie_neumann
Literary Arts
Profile picture for user Daria_Ivanova
Literary Arts